MoviePaint

Last thursday I took a break from whatever I ‘should’ be doing to make some code that ‘paints.’

The below test video shows the general idea. I take a video clip, play it, and watch for any pixels that change from dark to light. When I find a pixel that makes a big enough change, I draw a colored line (over the spot where the pixel is located). The lines are small and transparent, so they overlap, mix and accumulate until the video is done playing.

I started working on this because I wanted to push the Gravity trailer through the code.  It has a lot of pixels that change from dark to light.  So I took about 10 seconds of video from the trailer, starting about 30 seconds in:

And then jammed it into my code.  You can see some blue bands that represent the earth panning in the frame.  The white spots are mostly from a flailing Sandra Bullock:

gravity-14

gravity-42

I wanted with some different colors, so I grabbed this clip:

And ended up with this layered mess of dog tongue, fur and spit:

gravity-11

gravity-87

Leave a Reply

